RSS

The Next Big Thing: January 30, 2013

30 Jan

Cody Kennedy (www.CKennedyAuthor.blogspot.com) invited me to participate in The Next Big Thing Blog Tour and I couldn’t resist the ongoing game in which authors talk about their favorite thing: their work, more particularly, their Work in Progress. The trials and tribulations of being an author, published or not, are challenging on any day, but the sense of community encouraged by games such as these makes it all worthwhile.

1: What is the working title of your novel? Pitch

2: Where did the idea for the novel come from? I woke up at about two in the morning with a short story idea in my mind and just had to put it to paper. I ran to the computer and typed it out. The story, originally intended to be for adults, had the working title “You’re Kidding?” I discussed it with a friend who asked if it was going to be a full-length novel. I hadn’t considered it, but the idea began to formulate in my mind. From that conversation, the working title “Pitch” came into being and I decided to make it a novel for young adults.

3: What is the genre of the novel? Gay, Young Adult, Contemporary Romance

4: Which actors would you choose to play the characters in a movie rendition of the novel? For Taylor: Evan Ellingson, for Jackson: Jacob Kogan. I’m unsure who could pull off Benny. There are not many young actors his height/size. I would go with Max Adler from Glee if he were younger.

ImageImage

5: What is a one-sentence synopsis of the novel? A story of life, love, friendship, fear, rejection, pain, near-death; you know, the fun stuff.

6: Will the novel be self-published, published by a publisher, or represented by an agency? I have submitted it to Harmony Ink, Dreamspinner Press’ Young Adult branch.

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript? To get the basic outline took me about two weeks. I was driven to get it done because Taylor and Jackson just wouldn’t shut up in my mind.

8: What other novels would you compare this story to within your genre? To be honest I hadn’t read enough young adult novels to know. The original story for Pitch was intended for adults and I had never considered it to be a young adult work until I discussed it with a friend.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this novel? Oh, wow. That’s a long list. First and foremost, it was Eden Winters. She gave me an incredible amount of encouragement from day one. Sjd Peterson, Anne Tenino, Amy Lane, and KC Wells have all been amazing. After reading the outline, many of my friends have been instrumental in driving me to complete the story. Marc Fabris, Lis Craig, and Seymour James have each had a hand in the story’s creation. They encouraged me and pushed me forward when I thought about giving up.

10: What else about your book might pique a reader’s interest? Benny. He seems to be a favorite of most people. He’s a big, beefy, brainy boy and the best friend you’re ever going to find.

Check out these incredible authors on next Wednesday’s The Next Big Thing Blog Tour:

1. Cody Kennedy

2. Jayson James

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “The Next Big Thing: January 30, 2013

  1. Lis Craig

    January 30, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    Look at you!!! You have no idea how proud I am of you. I love the actors you picked. For some reason, in my head, I never have a clear picture. Now, I do. And you know how much I love Benny and CANNOT WAIT for that story!! You, my dear friend, are an author!!

     
  2. Cody Kennedy

    January 30, 2013 at 9:36 pm

    I’m so excited for you and I can’t wait to read this story, Will!

     
  3. Give A Rush

    January 30, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    Yay Will!! Love you, babe! Much success to you, hon. Keep on writing, you’re good at it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
